Saturday 28 May 2022

The Atlas Six (The Atlas #1) by Olivie Blake - A Review

“Knowledge is carnage. You can’t have it without sacrifice.”

The Atlas Six by Olivie Blake is a fantasy book and the first book in The Atlas series. The book was originally  published in January 2020 and was republished in March 2021 by Tor Books.

This book was really hyped and I was confused while reading it. I couldn't decide if I liked it or not. By the end of it though I was sure that I liked it. 
I like the story and the magic system. However, I found the writing a little bit dense at some points. 
It has a great cast of characters and my favourites are Libby, Tristan and Parisa. I found Reine indifferent and I didn't like Callum. 
The ending however was really intense. 
If you like dark academia and fantasy in a school setting, I believe you will like this book.

Rating: 4 Stars

About the book:

The Alexandrian Society is a secret society of magical academicians, the best in the world. Their members are caretakers of lost knowledge from the greatest civilizations of antiquity. And those who earn a place among their number will secure a life of wealth, power, and prestige beyond their wildest dreams. Each decade, the world’s six most uniquely talented magicians are selected for initiation – and here are the chosen few...

- Libby Rhodes and Nicolás Ferrer de Varona: inseparable enemies, cosmologists who can control matter with their minds.
- Reina Mori: a naturalist who can speak the language of life itself.
- Parisa Kamali: a mind reader whose powers of seduction are unmatched.
- Tristan Caine: the son of a crime kingpin who can see the secrets of the universe.
- Callum Nova: an insanely rich pretty boy who could bring about the end of the world. He need only ask.

When the candidates are recruited by the mysterious Atlas Blakely, they are told they must spend one year together to qualify for initiation. During this time, they will be permitted access to the Society’s archives and judged on their contributions to arcane areas of knowledge. Five, they are told, will be initiated. One will be eliminated. If they can prove themselves to be the best, they will survive. Most of them.

See you in the next post and don't forget to keep reading!!!

0 σχόλια:

Post a Comment